63 coaches online • Server time: 19:38
Index Search Usergroups Profile
Log in
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Grabgoto Post Dark elf league rost...goto Post Played in a NAF tour...
SearchSearch 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
jonno



Joined: Mar 14, 2014

Post   Posted: Jan 26, 2017 - 21:50 Reply with quote Back to top

So my old lap top was 15 inches. and I always thought the client window was all right. I autohid the tool bar, so I could chat, and everything was good...

Now I just got a 14 inch lap top, and the client window is waaay smaller. Like it takes up a way smaller percentage portion of the screen...

Is this because my new screen has more pixels?

What can I do? If I turn it in for a bigger screen will the client still be smaller? because the screen is better?
The_Carthaginian



Joined: Mar 05, 2015

Post   Posted: Jan 26, 2017 - 22:17 Reply with quote Back to top

You could reduce the resolution of your screen, or use a software magnifier.
Mr_Foulscumm



Joined: Mar 05, 2005

Post   Posted: Jan 26, 2017 - 22:23 Reply with quote Back to top

How on earth did you managed to find a 14'' screen in this day an age? Surprised

_________________
Everybody's favorite coach on FUMBBL
jonno



Joined: Mar 14, 2014

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 09:33 Reply with quote Back to top

The_Carthaginian wrote:
You could reduce the resolution of your screen, or use a software magnifier.


Yeah, but the problem is that even on low resolution the client window is still really small.

I guess what I'm asking is if the java client is just smaller on the new generation of lap tops?
jonno



Joined: Mar 14, 2014

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 09:36 Reply with quote Back to top

Mr_Foulscumm wrote:
How on earth did you managed to find a 14'' screen in this day an age? Surprised


It was all shiny and chrome!!
Desultory



Joined: Jun 24, 2008

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 11:28 Reply with quote Back to top

I use an external screen with my laptop connected by HDMI. That would solve the problem, albeit semi ruin the point of having a laptop, and cost some money.

Does your oaptop have HDMI or VGA connectors? If so, this is one solution.

_________________
Image
jonno



Joined: Mar 14, 2014

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 12:20 Reply with quote Back to top

Desultory wrote:
I use an external screen with my laptop connected by HDMI.


That's not a bad idea.
Fortis



Joined: Mar 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 12:55 Reply with quote Back to top

The reason it is displayed like that is that it is a fixed resolution (something like 800x600) and your new screen has a much larger resolution compared to your old laptop. Adding a screen is a really odd workaround, I guess it would work, but only if you got a low resolution screen from somewhere. You can reduce your desktop resolution by right clicking on the desktop and clicking on "screen resolution" (windows 7) or similar in other versions. It'll make everything else look weird but fumbbl will fill up more of the screen.

Otherwise the more elegant solution is to get a software magnifier. Just choose a random one of these: https://www.google.com.au/search?q=magnifier&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-b&gfe_rd=cr&ei=IjWLWOihOsTr8Aenj5SoBw#q=magnifier+soft
jonno



Joined: Mar 14, 2014

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 15:49 Reply with quote Back to top

Fortis wrote:
The reason it is displayed like that is that it is a fixed resolution (something like 800x600) and your new screen has a much larger resolution compared to your old laptop.


Does this mean that the client will be the same size regardless if the screen is 14 or 17 inches? If the screens have the same resolution?
Loew



Joined: Feb 02, 2005

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 16:26 Reply with quote Back to top

jonno wrote:

Does this mean that the client will be the same size regardless if the screen is 14 or 17 inches? If the screens have the same resolution?


no, it means that the client size will always be determined by how many pixels are displayed.
Just looking at the horizontal lenght: I think Fortis is right that the client is about 800 pixels wide. Old laptops may have had as little as 1240 pixels in width, so the client covered about 2/3 of the available space.
Modern displays may have for example 1920 pixel (full hd), so the client takes up less then half of the available width.
Desultory



Joined: Jun 24, 2008

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 17:03 Reply with quote Back to top

Fortis wrote:
Adding a screen is a really odd workaround, I guess it would work, but only if you got a low resolution screen from somewhere.


Just want to note that my external screen is 1920x1080 so not 'low resolution', but it is 24"...

I didn't buy it solely to play FUMBBL Wink
Just saying it would be a solution.

_________________
Image
jonno



Joined: Mar 14, 2014

Post   Posted: Jan 27, 2017 - 20:35 Reply with quote Back to top

Loew wrote:
jonno wrote:

Does this mean that the client will be the same size regardless if the screen is 14 or 17 inches? If the screens have the same resolution?


no, it means that the client size will always be determined by how many pixels are displayed.


That makes a lot of sense. Thank you.
Display posts from previous:     
 Jump to:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 1.2 © 2003 PNphpBB Group
Credits