30 coaches online • Server time: 02:46
Index Search Usergroups Profile
Log in
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Tabletop Printable P...goto Post Svenska Ligans fluff...goto Post Paired with a coach ...
SearchSearch 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Helloo



Joined: May 18, 2015

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 21:17 Reply with quote Back to top

If you kick the ball and it lands on the touchline and you have a diving catcher on the line and they catch it, is that right? Or is it a bug/mistake?
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 21:18 Reply with quote Back to top

yes that is a bug I believe, if I understand you correctly. You cannot attempt to catch your own kick off

_________________
Image
Helloo



Joined: May 18, 2015

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 21:20 Reply with quote Back to top

Ok, thanks
Sutherlands



Joined: Aug 01, 2009

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 21:42 Reply with quote Back to top

You can attempt to catch your own kick, otherwise blitz would be a lot worse! However, from the FAQ:

Q: If a player from your team fails to catch a ball from a kick-off, and the ball bounces over the line of scrimmage is it a touchback?
A: Yes, any event that causes the ball to go out of bounds or over the line of scrimmage during a kick-off results in a touchback.

So if your player is on your half and tries to catch it, whether they succeed or fail, the ball will be over the LOS and the receiving player gets a touchback.
Helloo



Joined: May 18, 2015

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 21:53 Reply with quote Back to top

Yes that does seem right. I did it automatically because it was unexpected. In the heat of the moment it didn't seem more unfair than lots of other things in the game Smile
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 22:18 Reply with quote Back to top

the point is - it is different to a blitz though, If you catch the ball with diving catch and you are still on your side of the pitch then it pulls the ball on to your side of the pitch and therefore out of bounds.

this should mean the receiving team are given the ball. Who ended up with the ball Hello?

_________________
Image
Helloo



Joined: May 18, 2015

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 23:34 Reply with quote Back to top

I did (I was the kicking team), the catcher caught it and the game would have gone on as normal

EDIT
Actually I'm not sure if it did go on quite normally because the other coach conceded after and the game is still scheduled. It's the game for this team

https://fumbbl.com/p/team?team_id=872965
Guardikai



Joined: Jun 23, 2009

Post   Posted: Apr 25, 2017 - 23:58 Reply with quote Back to top

I wish this were a thing; it'd be cheesy but hilarious...
BubbaDave



Joined: May 19, 2008

Post   Posted: Apr 26, 2017 - 00:49 Reply with quote Back to top

I had it happen to me in a match where my opponent kicked and then used Perfect Defense to place his Diving Catch player in position to steal the ball. The game went on as normal.
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Apr 26, 2017 - 00:49 Reply with quote Back to top

then yes this is a bug, the receiving team should have been given the ball

_________________
Image
Craftnburn



Joined: Jul 29, 2005

Post   Posted: Apr 26, 2017 - 00:56 Reply with quote Back to top

Bogus.. Diving Catch needs the love.. LET THEM SNATCH IT! Smile
Display posts from previous:     
 Jump to:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 1.2 © 2003 PNphpBB Group
Credits