25 coaches online • Server time: 07:54
Index Search Usergroups Profile
Log in
Recent Forum Topics goto Post $100 Pledge for the ...goto Post Fame (I wanna live f...goto Post Get your Apes on gam...
 
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
The_Murker



Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Post   Posted: May 12, 2012 - 19:49 Reply with quote Back to top

What I seem to care most about on FUMBBL is making my team page
look pretty. I'd like to add stuff upon stuff, walls of text full of fluff, but for length top to bottom, enough is enough.

This OLD team page has buttons side by side. I've played with my html-ISH code or what ever it is, but can't manage the proper code to get the buttons side by side. A new button starts a new line, making the page even longer.

Could someone post a bit of code with two or three buttons that will appear side by side. And maybe another button that will start a new line so I can see the difference. Thanks for any help.
Shraaaag



Joined: Feb 15, 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Post   Posted: May 12, 2012 - 19:58 Reply with quote Back to top

This is the code I used:
Code:
<input style='width:150px;' type="button" value="Show team statistics" onclick="x=document.getElementById('team_statistics');if(x.style.display != 'none'){x.style.display = 'none';this.value='Show team statistics'}else{x.style.display = 'block';this.value='Hide team statistics';}" /><!--
--><input style='width:150px;' type="button" value="Show statistics" onclick="x=document.getElementById('statistics');if(x.style.display != 'none'){x.style.display = 'none';this.value='Show statistics'}else{x.style.display = 'block';this.value='Hide statistics';}" /><!--
--><input style='width:150px;' type="button" value="Show team" onclick="x=document.getElementById('team');if(x.style.display != 'none'){x.style.display = 'none';this.value='Show team'}else{x.style.display = 'block';this.value='Hide team';}" />

_________________
Image
Image
The_Murker



Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Post   Posted: May 12, 2012 - 20:03 Reply with quote Back to top

Thanks. I'll play with it a bit before more SFQ's.

_________________
Image
Your human Black Box team is already in! Check how you're doing this season.
BrianLohan



Joined: May 22, 2012

Post   Posted: May 22, 2012 - 10:04 Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah,Code is also running flawlessly for me.Is it possible for inherit the class wit reference?

_________________
australia air charter
cowhead



Joined: Oct 22, 2006

Post   Posted: May 24, 2012 - 08:36 Reply with quote Back to top

Is there any way to replace the button with an image?

_________________
Image
Shraaaag



Joined: Feb 15, 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Post   Posted: May 24, 2012 - 19:17 Reply with quote Back to top

cowhead wrote:
Is there any way to replace the button with an image?


Yes

Code:
<input type="image" src="URL OF IMAGE" onclick="x=document.getElementById('divID');if(x.style.display != 'none'){x.style.display = 'none';}else{x.style.display = 'block';}" />
<div id="divID" style="display:none;">HIDDEN CONTENT</div>


Example:
https://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&team_id=601732

_________________
Image
Image
The_Murker



Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Post   Posted: May 24, 2012 - 19:29 Reply with quote Back to top

Shraaaaaag = my new favorite.

_________________
Image
Your human Black Box team is already in! Check how you're doing this season.
cowhead



Joined: Oct 22, 2006

Post   Posted: May 24, 2012 - 21:26 Reply with quote Back to top

Thanks Shraaaag, very much appreciated.

_________________
Image
Dalfort



Joined: Jun 23, 2008
Location: Scholar Green

Post   Posted: May 24, 2012 - 21:47 Reply with quote Back to top

The_Murker wrote:
Shraaaaaag = my new favorite.


have you seen his awesome scripts? for compiling your teams/players stats?

Link

Shraaaag my favourite for a long time Very Happy
The_Murker



Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Post   Posted: Aug 24, 2012 - 03:10 Reply with quote Back to top

Hello again. I'm come back to this idea. After an hour of comparing my button script, and the script in your first reply, Shraaaag, I just can't get my button to line up. In the script above, I'm sure you left out some of the actual "content" that each button reveals. Forgive my ignorance, but could you (or anyone) paste a script in it's entirety, content and all, so I can see where I am going wrong. I might just be missing a squiggle, exclamation point, or perhaps ending with a space instead of an enter... ..*???*

Just to compare.. here is the button script I use to reveal 'kill icons' and some text on my Kingston bio page. One button on top of the other. Could someone be so kind as to modify it so that the buttons stay in line? Or maybe just point out the difference in the code. I notice I have some <div> </div> type stuff Shraaaag's dosn't seem to. Could that be it?

Code:

<p align="center"><input type="button" value="Kills" onclick="x=document.getElementById('hide1');if(x.style.display != 'none'){x.style.display = 'none';this.value='Kills'}else{x.style.display = 'block';this.value='Hide Kills';}"><div id='hide1' style='display:none'><p align="center"><a href="http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=match&id=3155788"><img src="https://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL/Images/PlayerIcons/rotter1.gif"; title="Stinky" /></a></div><p align="center"><input type="button" value="My Dead" onclick="x=document.getElementById('hide2');if(x.style.display != 'none'){x.style.display = 'none';this.value='My Dead'}else{x.style.display = 'block';this.value='Hide My Dead';}"><div id='hide2' style='display:none'><p align="center"><a href="http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=match&id=3156953"><img src="https://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL/Images/PlayerIcons/hlineman1.gif"; title="Romeo" /></a><p align="center">Romeo is dead now!!</div>

_________________
Image
Your human Black Box team is already in! Check how you're doing this season.
The_Murker



Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Post   Posted: Aug 24, 2012 - 17:27 Reply with quote Back to top

OK, after more experimentation, it seems my buttns will indeed appear side by side (a new button will not start a new line) only if the entire bio (HTML code?) uses ythe default alignment, meaning stays LEFT. If even one time I use the code <p align="center"> or <p align="left"> before I get to the buttons, the buttons no longer line up side to side. The reason mistifies me.

Is there another way to change between centering or left justifying the text, other than the "align" function?

Thanks in advance for any help.

_________________
Image
Your human Black Box team is already in! Check how you're doing this season.
The_Murker



Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Post   Posted: Aug 24, 2012 - 17:58 Reply with quote Back to top

Got it. I'll just surround the entire previous bio with a <div> </div> division so the buttons will stay aligned left, and remain side by side.

_________________
Image
Your human Black Box team is already in! Check how you're doing this season.
The_Murker



Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Post   Posted: Aug 25, 2012 - 02:21 Reply with quote Back to top

Well, getting the side by side buttons to work has allowed the Kingston Kruelty's Hall Of Fame to go in nicely. More players and portraits to follow, of course. I intend to modify and colorize one of knut_rockie's original Fumbbl portraits for each position. The Blitzer needs work, but it's my first attempt at such a thing. I'm finally working with "layers" in the paint program, so I amy be able to change the uniform colors quite easily if some human players want some cool custom player portraits for their team. What were the Bucs colors again? Pink and yellow?

_________________
Image
Your human Black Box team is already in! Check how you're doing this season.
Wreckage



Joined: Aug 15, 2004

Post   Posted: Aug 25, 2012 - 08:47 Reply with quote Back to top

Hi, since this is about buttons... I have been wondering for a while now if it is possible to use some sort of 'buttons' more like images and such... is that possible?


Last edited by Wreckage on Aug 25, 2012 - 09:19; edited 1 time in total
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Aug 25, 2012 - 09:04 Reply with quote Back to top

Yup an image can be a button.

Code:
<input type="image" src="URL OF IMAGE" onclick="x=document.getElementById('divID');if(x.style.display != 'none'){x.style.display = 'none';}else{x.style.display = 'block';}" />
<div id="divID" style="display:none;">HIDDEN CONTENT</div>


Example:
https://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&team_id=601732
Display posts from previous:     
 Jump to:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 1.2 © 2003 PNphpBB Group
Credits