54 coaches online • Server time: 00:02
Index Search Usergroups Profile
Log in
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Mark players in repl...goto Post Online Welsh Open 20...goto Post Crowd funded teams &...
SearchSearch 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Dunenzed



Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 22:23 Reply with quote Back to top

So not sure if this has been discussed before but my last test game raised a question. I managed a chain push of a boneheaded ogre that had the ball into the endzone. This didn't trigger a TD (or a client crash). When he attempted to move he boneheaded again - so still no TD.

Bug Report with screen and game link here.

This has implications for Hypno Gaze and Really Stupid as well I suppose.

Discuss!
Overhamsteren



Joined: May 27, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 22:35 Reply with quote Back to top

Funny, as far as I can tell the 'Scoring Touchdowns In Your Turn'-section doesn't really deal with the possibility of pushing your own player holding the ball into the endzone.

But by all logic it should count as a touchdown, bonehead or no bonehead.

_________________
Like a Tiger Defying the Laws of Gravity

Thanks to the BBRC for all the great work you did.
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 22:54 Reply with quote Back to top

It should count as a td.

_________________
Image
tmoila



Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 22:57 Reply with quote Back to top

Obvious TD. Player holds the ball and is in endzone. TD by the rules.

_________________
gg
Roland



Joined: May 12, 2004

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:12 Reply with quote Back to top

tmoila wrote:
Obvious TD. Player holds the ball and is in endzone. TD by the rules.


although, if a vampire fails BL and stands in the end zone it is not TD, someone plz explain.
Overhamsteren



Joined: May 27, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:17 Reply with quote Back to top

It is explicitly stated in the Blood Lust rules that he doesn't score.

_________________
Like a Tiger Defying the Laws of Gravity

Thanks to the BBRC for all the great work you did.
Kam



Joined: Nov 06, 2012

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:19 Reply with quote Back to top

Quote:
Failure to bite a
Thrall is a turnover and requires him to feed on a spectator move the
Vampire to the reserves box if he was still on the pitch. If he was holding
the ball, it bounces from the square he occupied when he was removed
and he will not score a touchdown if he was in the opposing end zone.


By, you can't pass the ball to a really stupid troll either. Is it working as it's supposed to?

_________________
GLN 17 is out!
Image
Stimme



Joined: Jun 30, 2013

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:19 Reply with quote Back to top

Reminds me of the old philosophical question:
If a bonehead roll fails in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

And back on topic: Unlike for bloodlusted vampires, since it is not explicitly stated that a bonehead/really stupid/wild animal player cannot score if he fails his roll, we must assume he can.
Roland



Joined: May 12, 2004

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:25 Reply with quote Back to top

Overhamsteren wrote:
It is explicitly stated in the Blood Lust rules that he doesn't score.


I meant fluff-wise Very Happy
monk12



Joined: Feb 23, 2013

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:36 Reply with quote Back to top

That is because a BL Vampire does not actually "stand" in the endzone; rather, his blood frenzy causes him to continue his movement and fly right over the endzone and into the crowd without ever actually touching down with the ball!

...Blood Bowl vampires can fly, right?
radge



Joined: Nov 20, 2012

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:39 Reply with quote Back to top

I fully agree with Roland - that rule really irritates me as there is no logic to it. Any player holding the ball in the endzone should count as a touchdown. It would be much more reasonable if the vampire instead misses the next drive as he's on the stands looking for someone to bite.
tmoila



Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:42 Reply with quote Back to top

Kam wrote:
By, you can't pass the ball to a really stupid troll either. Is it working as it's supposed to?


Boneheaded or really stupid or gazed players automatically fail all catch rolls.
Roland



Joined: May 12, 2004

Post   Posted: Nov 10, 2014 - 23:51 Reply with quote Back to top

radge wrote:
I fully agree with Roland - that rule really irritates me as there is no logic to it. Any player holding the ball in the endzone should count as a touchdown. It would be much more reasonable if the vampire instead misses the next drive as he's on the stands looking for someone to bite.


good idea Very Happy
Dunenzed



Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 00:00 Reply with quote Back to top

tmoila wrote:
Kam wrote:
By, you can't pass the ball to a really stupid troll either. Is it working as it's supposed to?


Boneheaded or really stupid or gazed players automatically fail all catch rolls.


So you can bean them with the spiked ball?
tmoila



Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 00:20 Reply with quote Back to top

Dunenzed wrote:
tmoila wrote:
Kam wrote:
By, you can't pass the ball to a really stupid troll either. Is it working as it's supposed to?


Boneheaded or really stupid or gazed players automatically fail all catch rolls.


So you can bean them with the spiked ball?


In effect, yes.

Gaze
-> handoff spiked ball
--> free stab
---> new meta is born
Display posts from previous:     
 Jump to:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 1.2 © 2003 PNphpBB Group
Credits