14 coaches online • Server time: 03:43
Forum Chat
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Conceding v Goblins/...goto Post War Drums?goto Post Learning BB in YouTu...
SearchSearch 
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Glomp

Post   Posted: Aug 27, 2004 - 18:01 Reply with quote Back to top

I'd really like a picture go go with one of my teams but im having a hard time finding one big enough to see that also fits the file size limitations. In fact the smallest picture I could really cope with is still twice the allowed file size.

Can anyone give me a good way of reducing a pics byte size? Preferably without a loss of too much quality.

I think 10240 bytes is a little stingy myself Razz
Mezir

Post   Posted: Aug 27, 2004 - 18:05 Reply with quote Back to top

A well-compressed .jpg always helps, and bringing down the number of colours often helps too... I'm not an expert, I suggest asking Mnemon... See this team's picture, as well as this team's.

Post   Posted: Aug 27, 2004 - 18:09 Reply with quote Back to top

Hmmm they both seem to be PHP Files. Dunno what they are. Anyone less thick than me?

And no searching google for the answer left me more confused then before. Sad
Glomp

Post   Posted: Aug 27, 2004 - 18:27 Reply with quote Back to top

*bump*

Post   Posted: Aug 27, 2004 - 18:53 Reply with quote Back to top

They show as PHP-files because the actual image-data is prolly stored to the database and is fetched from there by a PHP-script. Both of those two pictures are really .jpg pics. Photoshop and Photoshop Elements have very useable "save for web" -wizard, which shows the filesize with different compression levels. If your image is a photo-like image then .jpg is the preferred and will produce better filesize/quality-combination. If your picture has simple graphics and few colors .gif gives lossless compression + gives you possibility to use one color as "trasparent" ( http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&op=view&team_id=62532 ).