19 coaches online • Server time: 03:20
Forum Chat
Recent Forum Topics goto Post ramchop takes on the...goto Post Chaos Draft League R...goto Post anyone know how to c...
SearchSearch 
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Shepherd

Post   Posted: Nov 03, 2004 - 15:29 Reply with quote Back to top

I've been waiting for a bit for FUMBBL_Academy to come back. My teams have been approved, but there's never anyone in the IRC channel.

I'm pretty new to BB both in RL and online, and the idea of "cutting my teeth" with other n00bs and helpful opposing coaches (not giving me any breaks, you understand, but explaining what they're doing and why while we play) is really exciting. Learning's more fun when you're not just getting kicked around the field constantly (or at least when you know WHY you're getting kicked around the field...)

Post   Posted: Nov 03, 2004 - 16:20 Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, that's my fault. I'm also sorry I didn't get back to your PM, Shepherd. Truth be told, I was trying to figure out what I am going to do with it, if anything.

What I'd originally wanted was to set up a channel specifically for new people (and not-so-new people who just needed some help with stratemagizationing) to gather and find similarly matched coaches. That never really worked out because I never really did any advertising or anything. I was simply too busy for the past many moons.

Soon, all shall be revealed... That's me being mysterious and trying to say I have no clue what I'm going to do.

Edit: The mentoring program suggested below and Treefinger and Seppuku's offers are pretty much what I had in mind from the beginning. I was just hoping to set up an sort of a semi-closed room for people to do their own thing. I say, "semi-closed" because anyone is welcome to join in but it would, obviously, be much smaller than the full #FUMBBL crowd and it would have a much higher concentration of newbies/mentors.