18 coaches online • Server time: 03:12
Forum Chat
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Conceding v Goblins/...goto Post War Drums?goto Post Advice tabletop tour...
SearchSearch 
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
xen7ric

Post   Posted: Jan 18, 2005 - 13:23 Reply with quote Back to top

I'm new to FUMBBL but played the board game quite alot and I've been wondering about this.

I know Dwarfs can be frustrating to play against, lots of players with Block, slow, grindy game almost guarenteed but I still don't get why people seem to hate playing them so much. They're so slow that you will probably scaore against them and you should be able to stop them ever scoring more than 1 against you, that makes for a 1 - 1 draw or win for you?

It may just be that the Dwarf games that I've played have always been un-developed teams and therefore I havn't seen the full mind-numbing dullness that is an advanced Dwarf team...

I always found that in the 100 - 150 team rating range Orcs and Undead are the teams that cause most injuries (our undead player was both lucky and evil).
MorbidDeath

Post   Posted: Jan 18, 2005 - 13:26 Reply with quote Back to top

dwarves

Post   Posted: Jan 18, 2005 - 13:33 Reply with quote Back to top

Because the nature of an open league is team development and fun. The reward/risk ratio of playing dwarves just is not worth it for a lot of teams.

Yes you might dodge your elves to a 3-1 victory, but the price could easily be 2-3 permanent injuries/deaths. Why do that when you can easily find an exiting high scoring elfbowl match with little risk of injuries.

That combined with the boring slow cage play just does not makes games vs. dwarves very attractive IMO.
Zippy_Wonderdog

Post   Posted: Jan 18, 2005 - 13:37 Reply with quote Back to top

Guard, dwarves get it really easy, I think almost all of their players can and that makes it really frustrating and difficult to block them.
JanMattys