32 coaches online • Server time: 10:25
Forum Chat
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Secret League Old Wo...goto Post Creating a custom to...goto Post ramchop takes on the...
SearchSearch 
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Malthor

Post   Posted: Sep 09, 2006 - 20:19 Reply with quote Back to top

Hi Coaches,

I know it is going back a bit now, but as part of my program of running the ranked tournaments, I review the running of each major to see what we did well, and what we could do better next time around.

Eg, this time around, we had a lot of problems filling in the early start times. This year, they were:

July 8th & 9th 2006, July 15th & 16th 2006
Start times: 4am, 10am, 4pm, 10pm BB time.

Two of the 4 AM ones were delayed for hours because we did not get the coaches to start the tournament. Being an Oceanic based coach myself, I like the 4 AM timeslot and I played at 4 AM, but don't think we will have four 4 AM starts next time. Eg, there might only be two 4 AM starts and an two 7 PM starts instead to cater for the much higher number of European based coaches.

Another issue was the long finals campaign with biweekly KO. Maybe they should be weekly KO instead.

I will also review the prize (for next year) to try and attract more agility based teams. Of the four majors, this had by far the most basher types applying to play.

Anyway, if you have any constructive comments about the running of the tournament please post in this thread. And thank you Angie for running this tournament and being there in to oversee or start all 16 qualifiers over two weekends, and also run the finals.

still disliked all round!
Frankenstein

Post   Posted: Sep 09, 2006 - 20:42 Reply with quote Back to top

Major problems with FUMBBL majors:

- (Unlimited) recovery and cash-creating games after the qualifiers (encourages cherry-picking, favours cherrypickers and gives unfair advantages to coaches who can rely on helpful buddies).