58 coaches online • Server time: 19:30
Forum Chat
Log in
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Blood Bowl 2024 Edit...goto Post Designer's Comm...goto Post Why did GW nerf guar...
SearchSearch 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
BadMrMojo



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Apr 12, 2007 - 22:12 Reply with quote Back to top

If you want a different site to constantly mirror your roster at a different URL (so that any changes you make to your roster on FUMBBL get reflected on your site), your entire page consists of one line:
Code:
<?php echo( file_get_contents ("http://fumbbl.com/teams/Pretty+Puppy+Love.html") ); ?>

Then save it as a .php file. The only issue is getting a server running php.

If you want to make a snapshot of your roster and save it to a file on your webserver (so that any changes you make to your roster on FUMBBL will not be updated, but your site will remain constant), then you write it to a file on your webserver instead of echoing the roster.

_________________
Ta-Ouch! of BloodBowl
Condensed Guide for Newbies
JonatanRaven



Joined: Aug 15, 2005

Post   Posted: Apr 12, 2007 - 23:20 Reply with quote Back to top

Thanks..

Yes that's exactly what I wanted to accomplish. Is there a way to include that code into an existing page as well?

And yes, I got the rOster right this time.. Razz

[url=http://www.grit.com/YDFramework2/temp/thumb_2rooster-head-color.jpg]Image[/url]

Thank you..
The_Decon



Joined: Jan 07, 2007

Post   Posted: May 30, 2007 - 01:37 Reply with quote Back to top

Thanks Once again Black N White Dog !!
I was getting to the point where my teams bio's were getting pretty crowded. And a bit confusing. So using the boxes I pretty much redesigned my bios. Im not gonna go back and change them all but, all my new teams will follow the new format.

Old format = http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&op=view&team_id=321996

New format = http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&op=view&team_id=359984

Any suggestions ?
prophane



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 02:35 Reply with quote Back to top

hey, does anyone out there know how to code the hide/unhide buttons onto team bio pages?
like i have past leagues season stats for my team on my team page but as we are starting season 8, the stats are taking up a lot of room. i was hoping to have a button that could be clicked to show the past season stats, but when pushed again, they go away?

anybody? ive seen it a few times on fumbbl teams, but cant find it again.

_________________
NWL
OCCS
SSS
HunterX



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 03:05 Reply with quote Back to top

All you do is find it in the HTML of the FUMBBL page and copy it. Or maybe someone will provide it here. That would be much easier!

_________________
[url=http://www.sloganizer.net/en/image,NBL,green,black.png]Image[/url]
[url=http://www.factorizer.co.uk/HunterX,0,ffffff,000000,0.png]Image[/url]
prophane



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 03:12 Reply with quote Back to top

thanks hunterX, problem is i forgot which team i saw it on and there are a LOT of teams to go through!

_________________
NWL
OCCS
SSS
prophane



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 03:24 Reply with quote Back to top

ok, i managed to find the team that i wanted to copy the button from, and i sort of implemented it on my team page. can anyone tell me how to make the hidden/shown text to fill a wider area. i can figure out how to make the button wider, but dont see anywhere else that dictates the width of the actual text area... hmmm
here is my team : http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&team_id=240680

and the team that i borrowed the html from: http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&op=view&team_id=299774

any thoughts?

_________________
NWL
OCCS
SSS
prophane



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 03:28 Reply with quote Back to top

never mind, i got it, im good, thanks though!

_________________
NWL
OCCS
SSS
HunterX



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 04:40 Reply with quote Back to top

hey! i wanted that posted here so i could use it!

=p

_________________
[url=http://www.sloganizer.net/en/image,NBL,green,black.png]Image[/url]
[url=http://www.factorizer.co.uk/HunterX,0,ffffff,000000,0.png]Image[/url]
Laviak



Joined: Jul 19, 2004

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 05:36 Reply with quote Back to top

I guess this is getting a bit beyone html code for beginners, but what the hey... You need to use client side scripting to do it - JavaScript is probably the way to go.

A simple example:
Code:
<p id='example'>Text to hide and show</p>

<a style='color:#000000; cursor:pointer;'
    onMouseOver="this.style.color='#800000';"
    onMouseOut="this.style.color='#000000';"
    title='show/hide'
    onclick="obj=document.getElementById('example');
        if (this.innerHTML=='show') { 
          this.innerHTML='hide'; 
          obj.style.display = ''; 
        } else { 
           this.innerHTML='show';
           obj.style.display = 'none'; 
        }">hide</a>

You'll need to get rid of the line breaks before using it.

The code is probably slightly simpler with a button, but i like the appearance of a link better Wink

For a slightly more complex example have a look at the previous seasons table for We Fink Wer Orks.

_________________
We Fink Wer Orks
--------
Help save blood bowl, foul an elf today!.
moonl1te



Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Post   Posted: Nov 26, 2007 - 09:15 Reply with quote Back to top

And for completness, this is the code for doing it with buttons:
Code:
<div><span>
<input type="button" value="show" style="width:250px;font-size:12px;margin:0px;padding:0px;" onclick="if (this.value == 'show')
{
    this.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('span')[1].getElementsByTagName('span')[0].style.display = ''; this.value = 'hide';}
 else
{
    this.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('span')[1].getElementsByTagName('span')[0].style.display = 'none'; this.value = 'hide';
}"></span>
<span><div><spanText to show or hide
</span>
</div>
Crik



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Jan 06, 2008 - 07:55 Reply with quote Back to top

Here's useful site about html :
http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_a.asp
http://www.htmlcodetutorial.com/
Also pagetutor.com have a nice color chart
http://www.pagetutor.com/pagetutor/makapage/pics/net216-2.gif
Xtreme



Joined: May 04, 2004

Post   Posted: Jan 07, 2008 - 23:15 Reply with quote Back to top

Can someone help me out with this team bio?
ZombieZ
I'm trying to get the second table to be right under 'Dearly Departed'. I can't figure out why there is that gap there. Or why the edit bio button looks like it is part of the table. Anything I try and type below that table gets put above it. I'm sure these things are all probably related, can someone tell me what i'm doing wrong and how to fix it please.
Crik



Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Post   Posted: Jan 08, 2008 - 06:46 Reply with quote Back to top

Heh, i have the same problem : http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&op=view&team_id=24302
that's why i'm doing it like this : http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=team&op=view&team_id=22031
But i still have a big gap between the top and the table :-/ (i tried without the hidden table button spinner and its the same)

For the edit bio button, i solved the prob with starting my table with something like this :
<table style="border: solid 2px black; margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
And ur edit bio button will be displayed out of your table
Laviak



Joined: Jul 19, 2004

Post   Posted: Jan 08, 2008 - 07:55 Reply with quote Back to top

Almost certainly the gaps are caused by the way FUMBBL replaces newlines with "<br />". There are workarounds in the first couple of pages of this thread (delete the newlines, or comment them out).

Make sure to include both the opening and closing tags for all your tables / rows / cells too. If you don't, you may get some very odd looking stuff in your bio.

_________________
We Fink Wer Orks
--------
Help save blood bowl, foul an elf today!.
Display posts from previous:     
 Jump to:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic