54 coaches online • Server time: 12:46
Index Search Usergroups Profile
Log in
Recent Forum Topics goto Post UW Goblins - Disturb...goto Post Human League Premier...goto Post HUBBA Post-Season 15...
SearchSearch 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Manzoo



Joined: Oct 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:03 Reply with quote Back to top

Just had a match where my wardancer tried to blitz the ball carrier. He has 8 movement and was 10 spaces away.
Not ideal but i thought it was possible to blitz with two GFIs.

It didn't work. He lept from the 8th space to the 9th and then used both GFIs in that one space.
So He'd ran out of movment and couldn't block.
Any ideas why?
Thanks

It happened at the end of this game
https://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=match&id=3866945
Dach



Joined: Dec 25, 2015

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:06 Reply with quote Back to top

lept from 8 to 9? isnt leap a 2 space action? something fishy here...
PainState



Joined: Apr 04, 2007

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:07 Reply with quote Back to top

Well, if you pull out your handy dandy CRP rule book laying next to your computer monitor you will read the words of wisdom that say it cost one MA to perform the blitz action.

SO, what these words of wisdom mean in the real world is that if your player can move 10 with GFI, his range to actually blitz is 9. The 10 move is the blitz action.

One must always strive to read the words of wisdom laid down by NUFFLE on high in the exalted rule book.

_________________
Comish of the: Image
PainState



Joined: Apr 04, 2007

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:09 Reply with quote Back to top

Dach wrote:
lept from 8 to 9? isnt leap a 2 space action? something fishy here...


Once again we must read the words of NUFFLE. A leap 2 squares away costs 2 ma.

_________________
Comish of the: Image
kummo



Joined: Mar 29, 2016

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:09 Reply with quote Back to top

Leap takes always 2 movement. So if you leaped after 8 movement, when he lands, he has moved all 10 squares. It doesn't matter if you leap 1 or 2 squares, it always counts 2 movement.

Leaper also rolls all gfi rolls if he needs those to move.

Also remember to count your block-rolls (of the blitz) as 1 movement. It doesn't matter if you follow the block or not (or take both down), block always takes 1 movement too.


Last edited by kummo on Jan 10, 2017 - 16:11; edited 1 time in total
PainState



Joined: Apr 04, 2007

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:11 Reply with quote Back to top

** Pro Tip **

A foul on the other hand does not count as a MA action so you can move 10 squares and then lay a juicy foul on the prone player 11 squares away.

Meditate, contemplate, reflect and understand then you will profit.

_________________
Comish of the: Image
kummo



Joined: Mar 29, 2016

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:13 Reply with quote Back to top

PainState wrote:
** Pro Tip **

A foul on the other hand does not count as a MA action so you can move 10 squares and then lay a juicy foul on the prone player 11 squares away.

Meditate, contemplate, reflect and understand then you will profit.


Neither does hypnogaze, stab, pass or handoff.
Dach



Joined: Dec 25, 2015

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:15 Reply with quote Back to top

Watched his replay, he moved 8 square then leaped into the 9th. so that's why. Leaping take 2 movement even if you leap one square away.

What you should have done is leap after moving 7 square into the 9th, then it would have left you with one gfi to make the block.
Manzoo



Joined: Oct 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:33 Reply with quote Back to top

It all makes sense. The one square leap took 2 movement.
Good to know! Thanks guys.
zakatan



Joined: May 17, 2008

Post   Posted: Jan 10, 2017 - 16:45 Reply with quote Back to top

Dach wrote:
Watched his replay, he moved 8 square then leaped into the 9th. so that's why. Leaping take 2 movement even if you leap one square away.

What you should have done is leap after moving 7 square into the 9th, then it would have left you with one gfi to make the block.


I'm not sure if it's fixed or not yet, but you could leap 2 squares away after the first GFI, giving you an extra square to move. Even though the client allows it, this move is considered bug abuse and can result in the game being forfeited.

Nothing to do with the OP but it's what I first thought seeing the thread title the problem would be. Anyway, it's good to remind this every once in a while to newish leap users.

_________________
Image
Display posts from previous:     
 Jump to:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 1.2 © 2003 PNphpBB Group
Credits