20 coaches online • Server time: 03:45
Index Search Usergroups Profile
Log in
Recent Forum Topics goto Post SWL Fantasy League S...goto Post UW Goblins - Disturb...goto Post Is kicking first wit...
SearchSearch 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Kalessin



Joined: Jul 31, 2012

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 01:05 Reply with quote Back to top

Kam wrote:
Quote:
Failure to bite a
Thrall is a turnover and requires him to feed on a spectator move the
Vampire to the reserves box if he was still on the pitch. If he was holding
the ball, it bounces from the square he occupied when he was removed
and he will not score a touchdown if he was in the opposing end zone.


By, you can't pass the ball to a really stupid troll either. Is it working as it's supposed to?


In the question given, the bone-headed ogre already had the ball (so he's holding to it, even tough he doesn't know really well why he has that funny leather stuff that's not a goblin in his hands).

I think he scores the td, and someone tells him afterwards what he has accomplished Wink
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 01:14 Reply with quote Back to top

Yes... it is a TD, he has the ball and stands in the end zone

/thread

_________________
Image
Lolthsmeat



Joined: Aug 08, 2014

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 01:29 Reply with quote Back to top

daresay this instance will become a bit more commonplace with the distract card now in play
Smeat



Joined: Nov 19, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 01:52 Reply with quote Back to top

radge wrote:
I fully agree with Roland - that rule really irritates me as there is no logic to it. Any player holding the ball in the endzone should count as a touchdown.

Think of a "touchdown" as a rugby-style score, not a (American) football style. So you don't just "break the plane" of the goal and stand (or run) there, but you have to push the ball down onto the ground there to score.

In Rugby, if you can hold the ballcarrier (or just his ball-hand) off the ground, it doesn't matter where he's standing.

BL'd Vamps don't bother actually stopping to "touch the ball down" - a technical but necessary formality.

(Don't ask me how this interpretation deals w/ BH/etc.

Also... it's a game. Get over it.)
Wink

_________________
Let's go A.P.E.!

(...and what exactly do you think they do with all those dead players?...)
xnoelx



Joined: Jun 05, 2012

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 01:54 Reply with quote Back to top

Smeat wrote:
radge wrote:
I fully agree with Roland - that rule really irritates me as there is no logic to it. Any player holding the ball in the endzone should count as a touchdown.

Think of a "touchdown" as a rugby-style score, not a (American) football style. So you don't just "break the plane" of the goal and stand (or run) there, but you have to push the ball down onto the ground there to score.

In Rugby, if you can hold the ballcarrier (or just his ball-hand) off the ground, it doesn't matter where he's standing.

BL'd Vamps don't bother actually stopping to "touch the ball down" - a technical but necessary formality.

(Also... it's a game. Get over it.) Wink


Which is fine.... except that the Stupid Troll/Bonehead Ogre/Hypno-ed player does touch the ball down?

_________________
Image Nerf Ball 2014
Smeat



Joined: Nov 19, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 01:55 Reply with quote Back to top

(cross edit)

Maybe in BB he has to "stop" there - and the Vamp doesn't stop.

There.

_________________
Let's go A.P.E.!

(...and what exactly do you think they do with all those dead players?...)
gamelsetlmatch



Joined: Mar 05, 2013

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 02:14 Reply with quote Back to top

tmoila wrote:
Kam wrote:
By, you can't pass the ball to a really stupid troll either. Is it working as it's supposed to?


Boneheaded or really stupid or gazed players automatically fail all catch rolls.


*If* the player was holding the ball already but went bonehead..

..couldn't you just chain push him in for the score?
monk12



Joined: Feb 23, 2013

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 02:28 Reply with quote Back to top

tmoila wrote:
Dunenzed wrote:
tmoila wrote:
Kam wrote:
By, you can't pass the ball to a really stupid troll either. Is it working as it's supposed to?


Boneheaded or really stupid or gazed players automatically fail all catch rolls.


So you can bean them with the spiked ball?


In effect, yes.

Gaze
-> handoff spiked ball
--> free stab
---> new meta is born


...can you even hand off to an opposing player? I need to go play another test game.
Smeat



Joined: Nov 19, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 03:03 Reply with quote Back to top

gamelsetlmatch wrote:
..couldn't you just chain push him in for the score?

Um... welcome to the conversation. See OP (or

monk12 wrote:
...can you even hand off to an opposing player? I need to go play another test game.

??? - no.


The only counter-argument, for NOT scoring w/ BH, is that the player does not have a move to take. BUT, if the Defense can cause a score while it's their Turn... I'd think there should be no diff here.

(Now, what if the D pushes a BoneHead in? Could they still try to knock the ball loose or push him OB? Do they deserve the option to try?)

_________________
Let's go A.P.E.!

(...and what exactly do you think they do with all those dead players?...)
zakatan



Joined: May 17, 2008

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 03:51 Reply with quote Back to top

monk12 wrote:

...can you even hand off to an opposing player? I need to go play another test game.


The answer to this is yes. You can even hand it off to a prone player of either team. The usefulness of this is fringe but in some desperate situation you can hope for some favorable bounces here and there. Playing with a spiked ball against some gang-fouling skeletons makes a lot of sense though...

You will of course lose your turn if either the opposing player grabs the ball or it lands on the ground. Should it bounce back to any of your players that proceeds to catch it, there is no turnover.

_________________
Image
Overhamsteren



Joined: May 27, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 12:06 Reply with quote Back to top

Garion wrote:
Yes... it is a TD, he has the ball and stands in the end zone


But doesn't this only apply in the opponent's turn if you read the rules as they are written? Razz

_________________
Like a Tiger Defying the Laws of Gravity

Thanks to the BBRC for all the great work you did.
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 12:12 Reply with quote Back to top

no, its a td this thread is silly, people need to stop trying to use logic and fluff to support their argument. The rules are clear here, Blood Lust is a specific exception written in to the rules any other time a player stands in the end zone it is a TD immediately.

_________________
Image
Overhamsteren



Joined: May 27, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 12:37 Reply with quote Back to top

But the rule you are using to call the TD in your own turn is from the "Scoring In The Opponent's Turn"-section.

_________________
Like a Tiger Defying the Laws of Gravity

Thanks to the BBRC for all the great work you did.
Garion



Joined: Aug 19, 2009

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 12:40 Reply with quote Back to top

no its not. rules for scoring td in your turn -

A team scores a TD during their turn when one of their players is standing in the opposing team's end zone while holding the ball at the end of any of your players' Actions.

_________________
Image
Overhamsteren



Joined: May 27, 2006

Post   Posted: Nov 11, 2014 - 13:12 Reply with quote Back to top

Ah cheers read that as if the player with the ball had to end his action there

_________________
Like a Tiger Defying the Laws of Gravity

Thanks to the BBRC for all the great work you did.
Display posts from previous:     
 Jump to:   
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 1.2 © 2003 PNphpBB Group
Credits