30 coaches online • Server time: 03:48
Forum Chat
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Gnomes are trashgoto Post Gnome Roster - how a...goto Post Skittles' Centu...
SearchSearch 
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Longshanks

Post 22 Posted: Apr 29, 2005 - 08:27 Reply with quote Back to top

As a somewhat new coach, I see recommendations from other coaches in strategy articles/posts to take the kick skill early (see BadMrMojo's Team Advancement FAQ as an example). I've seen statements before like "It will win you games".
Can someone please explain to me how kick wins me a game or why its good enough to take over block, or dodge or 1/2 dozen other skills I think I'd be better off with.
The only circumstance I can see when kick will win me a game is if I can blitz to get at the ball first (and probably even then only if I'm playing a team with reasonable movement). The liklihood of that happening doesn't seem to warrant sacrificing a more generally useful skill for.

Enough people seem to take kick reasonably early in their teams development so clearly some of you think its a good idea but the merit escapes me Confused . For those of you who take kick, why and in what circumstances ?
odi

Post   Posted: Apr 29, 2005 - 08:35 Reply with quote Back to top

I usually take kick for a skaven lineman fairly quick. It's very usefull against the slower bashier teams, not so much against other ag teams. The kick skill usually makes the oppos cage forming bit slower, if the ball bounces backwards, they usually can't build the cage on turn 1. And that's when my blodge,sidestep, shadowing grs will be on the ballcarrier. oh, and in the event of a failed ball pickup? Even more fun.

If the kick off result is blitz... and you made an exellent kick, well that's almost unfair isn't it? Razz
Istarios

Post   Posted: Apr 29, 2005 - 08:36 Reply with quote Back to top