63 coaches online • Server time: 19:13
Forum Chat
Recent Forum Topics goto Post Gnome Roster - how a...goto Post SWL Season 100!goto Post Problem to organize ...
SearchSearch 
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
mstrchef13

Post   Posted: May 23, 2005 - 16:31 Reply with quote Back to top

Had a thought as I was responding to another thread about CR. One of the answers people always give to any CR/cherrypicking thread is "if you don't like it, go play unranked". My response to that is always "I'd like to, but it's so hard to get a game there".

I was wondering what the community thought of requiring all new coaches to play 10 unranked games before they were allowed to play in ranked. Much of the cherrypicking comes from snapping up games against unsuspecting newbies who always seem to start playing in ranked. I admit I started playing ranked right away, because I thought "I'm pretty good on the tabletop, it can't be much different". Unfortunately, it is, because the coaches here are so much better than what I played against in my local league.

I think that everyone needs a "breaking in" period. Spend 10 games learning the interface, learning team creation (don't make a FF1 team, etc.), learning just how bad you really are, learning that the dice never roll your way when you want them to, stuff like that. *Then*, you can go into ranked more prepared. Plus, it makes more teams available in unranked for the rest of us who are tired of the nonsense that goes on in ranked to play.

Just a thought or two while I'm at work. And... IMHO as always.
ViQtor

Post   Posted: May 23, 2005 - 16:55 Reply with quote Back to top

I agree
Britnoth

Post   Posted: May 23, 2005 - 17:00 Reply with quote Back to top

*signs*
Jinxed

Post   Posted: May 23, 2005 - 17:04 Reply with quote Back to top

(doh; double post)

Last edited by Jinxed on %b %23, %2005 - %17:%May; edited 1 time in total
Jinxed