79 coaches online • Server time: 22:25
Forum Chat
Recent Forum Topics goto Post 7s for fummbl?goto Post Exempt teamsgoto Post All Star Bowl!
SearchSearch 
View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Logezero

Post   Posted: Feb 16, 2006 - 22:42 Reply with quote Back to top

I'm a newbie trying to develop a team for a local league (mostly other newbies). I've narrowed my selection down to three teams, but I don't know the nuances of the team, and in general just don't know if they'd work. I would appreciate any advice/comments. The teams are:

Norse-

1 Minotaur, 1 Thrower, 2 Catchers, 3 Blitzers, 4 Lineman, 9 FF, 2 RR

I like this team becuase it is close to my original concept: fast and capable of dealing damage. Most players have MA 6 and Block. I'm aware of the minotaur's wild animal, but I would generally just keep him in reserve hovering near the thrower and a blitzer/lineman to blitz (after everyone else) anyone threatening to score.
My concern is that general consensus dictates this team would lose as many players as they take out. That alone doesn't concern me, but I do worry that later on other teams will gain experience and up their players while I'll still have to rely on mostly fresh-off-the-longboat rookies.

Chaos Dwarf-

1 Troll, 2 Bull Centaur, 3 Chaos Dwarf Blockers, 5 Hobgoblin, 9 FF, 2 RR

I like that first six players mentioned are tough bastards. I especially like the bull centaurs, which I plan to make 1 an offensive ballrunner and the other a player-destroying freight train. The hobgoblins can also be developed into the throwers/catchers that this team lacks (my mix would eventually be 1 thrower, 2 catchers, and the other two either replaced by blockers or upgraded to whomp on lighter fare).