Azure
Joined: Jan 30, 2007
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 06:08 |
|
Question - has anyone gotten Jump Up on a treeman? Since in LRB 4 you were not able to (it was a trait) - but now you are able to...does it work?
But "work" - I mean, does it allow you to skip the 4+ stand up roll? The rules state that any action other than "Block" - allows the player to stand up for free - not using the 3 movement...so since the 4+ standup roll is if you are short of 3 movement...seems to me that Jump Up would allow a treeman to ignore the stand up roll.
If anyone has tried it - please let me know - thanks! |
|
|
Jeguan
Joined: Jan 25, 2011
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 07:28 |
|
If the player has less than three squares of movement, he must roll 4+ to stand up.
Still ma2 on treeman with Jump-up, and therefore "less than tree squares of movement".
So even with a jump-up treeman, you must roll to stand up.
Thats how we play TT |
|
|
Azure
Joined: Jan 30, 2007
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 07:31 |
|
Jeguan wrote: | If the player has less than three squares of movement, he must roll 4+ to stand up.
Still ma2 on treeman with Jump-up, and therefore "less than tree squares of movement".
So even with a jump-up treeman, you must roll to stand up.
Thats how we play TT |
I can see it played either way - does anyone know how the FFB client handles this issue? |
|
|
FreeRange

Joined: Dec 12, 2009
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 07:31 |
|
try it out it in a test game
EDIT: Just tried it and the answer is yes and no. You still have to roll 4+ to get up but after that you can use jump up as normally meaning you can block, blitz, or move normally. |
|
|
the_Sage

Joined: Jan 13, 2011
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 09:25 |
|
FreeRange wrote: | try it out it in a test game
EDIT: Just tried it and the answer is yes and no. You still have to roll 4+ to get up but after that you can use jump up as normally meaning you can block, blitz, or move normally. |
That's just no, though. |
|
|
f_alk

Joined: Sep 30, 2005
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 09:40 |
|
No, it's not "no":
You still have to roll to get up, but you don't pay your movement as you would have to without Jump up.
So, you roll to get up, but still have your MA of 2 left then.
Would be a nice houserule to have Jump cancel the "get up roll", as it makes so much more sense imho:
"... a player can stand up ... at a cost of three squares of his movement. If he has less ... he must roll 4+ .... If he stands up he may not move further"
and
"Jump up: ...he may stand up for free without paying the three squares of movement..."
to me his sounds so much like they wanted Jump up to override the rolling of the die, as the player now could pay the cost reduced to zero.
Guess it's time to have a look at TFF to see if the BBRC has said anything to that. |
|
|
harvestmouse

Joined: May 13, 2007
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 09:48 |
|
Buzzing was always a popular handicap for trees in lrb 4. |
|
|
Wreckage
Joined: Aug 15, 2004
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 10:07 |
|
Azure wrote: |
But "work" - I mean, does it allow you to skip the 4+ stand up roll?
FreeRange wrote: | tried it and the answer is yes and no. You still have to roll 4+ to get up but after that you can use jump up as normally meaning you can block, blitz, or move normally.
the_Sage wrote: |
That's just no, though.
f_alk wrote: | No, it's not "no. Same Argument as FreeRange etc.
|
|
|
|
That is just "no" |
|
|
JoeKano

Joined: Aug 30, 2003
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 10:32 |
|
Standing up
"At the cost of three squares of movement"
Jump up
A player with Jump up "may stand up for free without paying the three squares of movement"
The next line of standing up looks like its intent is if you dont have the three squares of movement to pay. You dont have three squares of movement to pay at all if you have jump up. I dont think you have to roll it. Jump up should bypass it. |
_________________ "Take the Strength, crush the opposing linemen, drive them broken before you and hear the lamentation of their Cheerleaders!!!"
 |
|
Dzerards
Joined: Sep 09, 2010
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 11:01 |
|
From TFF forum
GalakStarscraper wrote: | The roll for standing is you don't have enough MA to pay for standing up.
With Jump Up ... there is no issue with the payment to stand.
Thus a player with Jump Up and less than MA 3 does not need to roll to stand up.
That was definitely the intention of saying the player could stand up for free (ie free of anything (including special rolls)) and not wording it that they could stand up for 0 movement.
Tom |
So yes, a treeman with jump up doesn't have to roll to stand up (expect for a block). So add it you the list of client faults regarding the treemen. |
|
|
zakatan

Joined: May 17, 2008
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 11:04 |
|
it looks quite plane to me you don't need to roll as you don't consume movement to stand up. That's how it worked with buzzing trees also |
_________________
 |
|
Shraaaag

Joined: Feb 15, 2004
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 11:09 |
|
Is the question what the rule says or how the client does it? As there's a bug with treemen with +ma standing up, I think the OP asks how the client does it, and if anyone has tried. Hopefully the client works as the rule says, but unless someone try you wont know. |
_________________
 |
|
maysrill

Joined: Dec 29, 2008
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 11:44 |
|
FreeRange wrote: | try it out it in a test game
EDIT: Just tried it and the answer is yes and no. You still have to roll 4+ to get up but after that you can use jump up as normally meaning you can block, blitz, or move normally. |
It was tried and failed in client. Answer: "no, but it's a bug" |
|
|
Dzerards
Joined: Sep 09, 2010
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 11:44 |
|
Shraaaag wrote: | Is the question what the rule says or how the client does it? As there's a bug with treemen with +ma standing up, I think the OP asks how the client does it, and if anyone has tried. Hopefully the client works as the rule says, but unless someone try you wont know. |
err... I take it you stopped reading 3 posts in then. |
|
|
f_alk

Joined: Sep 30, 2005
|
  Posted:
Sep 13, 2011 - 11:50 |
|
Shraaaag wrote: | Is the question what the rule says or how the client does it? |
Ask Wreckage, he knows what the OP wanted to know  |
|
|
|